Tuning Range Extender? 28kW -> 32,5kW?

BMW i3 Forum

Help Support BMW i3 Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DisruptInnoLover

Hi All,
Already a year driving the i3 in Europe and covered many km's.
Very happy with the car. My i3 has a REX with 28kW installed.

What I would like is to increase the charge capacity of the Rex.
At present it is ok for sustained driving of approx 125 km/hr on the highway.
If you go beyond this to say 130km/hr the Rex charging cannot keep up with
the discharge of the battery. (I assume a SOC of > 10%)

Many highways in Europe allow 130 km/hr. When I am on a long stretch I would
like to have some extra charging capability so that this speed can be maintained.

Does anyone here at the FORUM know of chiptuning companies who could get the REX some extra kW's?

I am a professional chiptuner, and as far as I know I have never heard of any available protocol, what is needed for reading and writing the ECU for the
i3. But that could be because of low demand for it. If you can located the ecu, and take a picture of the label on it and send it to me, I can do some investigation.

I guess the ecu look something like this:
edc17_immo_off.jpg

How would you go about increasing the charging capacity? Higher RPMs or higher output from the generator at stock max RPM, or both?

It would also be helpful to have a Charging Mode that would allow you to actually increase SOC when driving at lower speeds. If I was away from home overnight and was unable to plugin it would be nice to charge the battery a bit on the way home to allow electric running in town for the final miles. Doesn't the Volt do this from the factory?