Coding Help in San Diego or Orange County

BMW i3 Forum

Help Support BMW i3 Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

weaver

Hello - I am new at this and super confused... Thinking about getting a certified 2014 i3 Rex for my daily commute, which is over 170 miles round trip. I have charging stations at work and will also be charging overnight. After the test drive, the BMW associate confirmed that I should have no problems doing this 85 mile one way drive but reading through this forum it sounds like the only way I can really make this work is by coding updates and enabling Rex to start whenever I choose. Did I get that right?

Long story short... I am hoping I can pay someone local to help me with the coding upgrades. I didn't buy the car yet and I really want to but I won't be able to if I can't get this figured out. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

We'll put aside the fact that California, CARB, insisted on hamstringing the car. Let's talk technical.

I used these people who with the VIN, will send an image via e-mail that loaded on a flash drive makes adding and taking off the patch trivial: http://dvdinmotion.com

Before I picked up my 2014, I sent them the VIN and had the flash drive in my pocket when I picked up the car in Charlotte NC. I planned to take the I-40 route over the mountains. Having the car coded would be critical to safe operation climbing from ~700 ft to ~2800 ft at the mountain pass. It worked perfectly and living in non-CARB area, I felt no concerns ethically or otherwise.

The real problem is the car maintains the SOC at 65-70 mph. At 75 mph, even with the engine running, the car loses ~20% SOC with each tank. As a cross country car, 65-68 mph is the speed range I typically use with a weather eye on the SOC. If headwinds or climbs are leading to loss of SOC, slow down. My experience:
  • 463 miles - Charlotte NC to Huntsville AL