Is buying a used i3 REX (2014 or 2015) a good idea? Concerned about maintenance costs.

BMW i3 Forum

Help Support BMW i3 Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ramiropadilla

Hi everyone,

I've been driving my leased 2015 i3 REX for almost 2 1/2 years now. I love the car and plan on either leasing a 2018 or buying a 2015 model (I've seen some really good deals, I'm in SoCal).

Has anyone done the same? Purchased a used 2014 / 2015 REX? I'm concerned about the cost of maintenance (short- and long-term), since at this point the only place you can take the car for repairs is BMW dealerships, and as we all know they tend to be pricey.

Thx,

RP

I haven't owned my REX to really know, but I did call a few dealerships and was quoted $180 for brake flush and $160 for oil change. Prices here in Norcal tend to be higher than Socal. From what I understand, that's pretty much the extent of the maintenance that's specific to the REX. Everything else like tires and brakes can be done elsewhere for whatever you'd be paying with another car.

My advice is definitely don't buy off the 2015 that you're leasing. The car's value has dropped in a big way and you'd be paying w/o realizing the depreciation. Not sure they'd even let you, but to renegotiate the buyoff price on yours would be the most I'd have anything to do with your car. Better to just turn away and look for another 2015 lease return.

No, don't buy a 2014. It'll have too many miles, you risk all the negative stuff surrounding the 2014 models and your warranty period will be too close to ending or will be over already.