Is this a good deal?

BMW i3 Forum

Help Support BMW i3 Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

EugeneM

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the world of i3s so I'm looking for an opinion. I've been driving a 2015 Model S for 2 years and my wife seems to love the feeling of an EV so much she keeps "borrowing" my car more and more.

So I decided to upgrade her BMW X1 to an EV. I love BMWs so the i3 seemed like a good choice.

I just put down a security deposit on a CPO i3 Rex. It is a 2015 mode but was only sold/registered on 4/28 of 2016 so it's basically 11 months old (been driven for 11 months). It has 13k miles on it. Giga World with a technology package, driving assistant, navigation, etc. Well loaded basically.

Since it's a CPO it comes with a 5yr/75k miles BMW warranty with more than 4 years left (unfortunately or furtunately, I'm not sure yet, it comes with the CPO Elite not regular CPO which would give me 6yr/100k coverage).

I am buying it from an official BMW dealer and I negotiated the price down to $24,000.

It seems like a good deal to me but I'd appreciate some feedback. Did I overpay? :)

I think you got a good deal. 2015's normally run 20-25K depending on options. And, you got a relatively "new" one that is CPO.

Having said that, why was it only used for 11 months ? Make sure you understand when the warranty started and when it ends. It could have been a "punched" car, that is, the dealer listed it as sold (and therefore the warranty started) to get a rebate from BMW when it actually wasn't. Don't get too disjointed...this is a common practice for BMW dealers and is ok as long as you understand upfront what the deal is. If it was really sold on 4/28/2016 and is a CPO you should get a 6 yr warranty, ending on 4/28/2022.