Retrofits Questions (a lot)

BMW i3 Forum

Help Support BMW i3 Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Carmiol

Hi! This is my first post, so hello everybody!

I am in the process of purchasing my first i3 (my first BMW as a matter of fact). So Im pretty new to all of this world. It’s a 2017 White Giga, a beauty. I’m very excited!

Now, to my (somewhat) disappointment, this 2017 BMW does not support CarPlay. This is were I need help to solve.

To the best of my research, the reason for this is that the head unit is NBT and not the NBT EVO that started in 2018 i3.

Researching a little more, I found that Bimmer-Tech sells the NBT EVO ID5/ID6 Retrofit. It also sells a CarPlay MMI. That’s were things started to get confusing. Doesn’t the NBT EVO include the ability to CarPlay? Do I have to get both in order to have CarPlay? Help!?

Doing a little more research, I found out that there are other companies doing retrofits (Esys, somebody on Alibaba, etc.). This brings me to the next question: which one gives the closer look and feel to original BMW CarPlay (2018-2019)?

Doing even more research, I found out there is forum called BMW Coding, which apparently can activate stuff on the i3 (although I know that I can’t activate CarPlay if the hardware doesn’t support it). Buuuuuut, I still don’t really understand what can be done with this coding. Help!

Anyways, hello again! Please let me know if you know any of the answers to my questions. Thanks in advance.