Bluetooth audio control through i3 radio?

BMW i3 Forum

Help Support BMW i3 Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kaivorb

Carvana delivered my 2015 ReX yesterday after months of research and dealership test drives. I'm enjoying the vehicle very much during my seven day Carvana "test own", and I can see how it would be tough to go back to a non-electric vehicle after this. I'm very happy with the driving experience.

But this is also my first BMW, and I am new to iDrive and all that it does in the car. I'm learning through trial and error and extensive net research, but one area that my research and experiments is failing me is with controlling my phone through the radio. Is that possible?

I have a newer Android phone (LV V30) that I was able to connect without much of a problem. Even taught myself how to delete the previous phone owner's phone from the entry list. I can get phone calls through the radio without an issue. And I can play media over my phone, although the sound is much lower than the normal radio (but I think that is a normal issue with BT streaming).

Here's my issue. Is it possible to "control" my phone media through the radio? Like PAUSE a track (I do audio books quite a bit) or SKIP a song (streaming Sirius XM or Google Play)? Or can I just have it play when I start the car and that's it? Is there a workaround? I have already purchased the materials needed to CODE it once I decide to keep it or not. Will that do anything? Is there a CODE that will allow this function?

Or should I purchase a separate BT controller dongle and plug it in through the AUX port like I have in my current 2009 Jeep Compass. That can certainly work, but I was hoping this newer and fancier vehicle might integrate that. But I'm not seeing much on the internet.