Car doesn't switch over to REX.

BMW i3 Forum

Help Support BMW i3 Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PVEVman

Hi,
my I3 REX is my commuter and I've been using it for about 2 years. My daily drive is about 70 miles and so far I was very pleased with it. The solar panels on my roof cover more than the daily charge so I'm driving for less than a penny a mile, fuel wise that is. However, lately the switching over to the REX didn't go so well. I don't need it a lot but it is crucial to me that it works. After the battery was almost empty, the carrot turns white, I would loose power and after doing 30 mph on the highway for 15 minutes, the REX finally goes all out and all is good. The BMW dealer found 3 errors in the electric motor and advised to reboot the car with updated software, it 'only' costs you $550.-. They were 99% sure that it would solve the problem. So I had it done. However, yesterday, I needed the REX again and it didn't do anything, even the carrot didn't turn white. Now I know you can hack the software so you can get the "European" version which means that it will show more fuel in your tank and you can start the REX manually. This might be a good solution because I don't have a lot of faith in the dealer. My guess is that they are going to change out control modules until they fixed it and I have to pay for each and everyone of them. Does anyone have the same experience as me? I would like to point the dealer in the right direction, or maybe just the software hack.
Thanks,

Its best to hack just the range extender option, its pretty easy cost about $50 for both app and dongle.

On longer or unknown journeys i often kick Rex around 30% or higher so if it fails there is some juice to left to develop plan B