Any i3 owners who have also owned a C-Max or Fusion Energi?

BMW i3 Forum

Help Support BMW i3 Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RRi3

I have an ionic silver Giga REX on order, but am still trying to complete my buying decision. I've been driving a Ford C-Max Energi for 16 months and 30K miles. I've driven the i3 and studied its specifications and features in person and online for a couple of months now, comparing it to my C-Max and trying to justify my decision to change. The C-Max is a great car, only slightly larger than the i3, but there are a few obvious differences, the biggest of which is range. The C-Max is a PHEV with about a 20 mile EV range and 500+ mile total range. My daily commute, with running errands, is about 25-30 miles, so the i3 looks very appealing as far as EV range is concerned. I know that the i3 is more of a "city car" than the C-Max, though, and doesn't have any where near the total range of the i3. I will have to adjust to using a different car for my longer trips (or making frequent gas stops). I've ordered the i3 with all of the tech options, as my C-Max is also fully-equipped with parking assistant and other gadgets.

I would be interested in hearing from any other C-Max or Fusion Energi owners that have made the switch to or addition of a BMW i3. What do you think of the i3 compared to the Energi?

Here are a few of my own comments:

• I will miss the "hands-free", automatic-opening rear hatch. You actually have to lift the hatch of the i3 to open it! ;)
    The USA version of the i3 doesn't allow opening of the rear hatch from the key fob. I think that's a big mistake, especially since you can open the frunk with it.
    No AM radio in the i3! How will I get my sports talk shows and other sports?