Considering a 2014 i3 for delivery

BMW i3 Forum

Help Support BMW i3 Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nknight

Hi,

I’m new to the i3 world here. I checked out a 2014 i3 at a local bmw dealership this weekend and loved almost everything about it except the higher mileage. Then I found another one online but 200 miles away that has only 32k of miles. It seems like a great deal at 2k under blue book. If it seems like this isn’t too good to be true, I could have it shipped to my house for about $300, which would be a first for me. I’m a little concerned about what I hear about motor mounts on 2014s and not sure if this one had the recall done on it. If not, would the recall still be available? The vin lookup shows it has dc fast charging. Also has the technology package. Some have also reported that earlier models had issues with REX... but isn’t the Rex covered by a 15 year warranty? Or could Rex end up costing me? I’d prefer a 2017 for the larger battery, Apple CarPlay and sunroofs, but looks like they are much more expensive at this point. See here: https://www.cars.com/vehicledetail/detail/795265369/overview?aff=share_other

I would never buy a car sight unseen, unless a service such as Carvana is behind it with a no-hassle return policy.

I've flown out of the area to purchase cars three times, also taken the train once, so there's already a financial commitment on my part in hopes there's nothing wrong the vehicle.

In one case there was light damage to a wheel that allowed me to negotiate an extra $600 off the agreed upon price. On another, the boost hose to the turbo was unsecured, causing loss of power (thankfully an easy repair). And locally, I test drove a car that was absolutely pristine, but pulled funny on the freeway -- found evidence of front end repairs that went unreported on Carfax.