Overwhelmed buying used i3

BMW i3 Forum

Help Support BMW i3 Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

YKK

This is my first time buying a car. I've decided on 2017 (am open to a 2016 as well but there are nearly 5x the 2017's available near me) for the battery and like the idea of REX as an emergency option I'd hopefully never use although it's not a deal breaker. I'd like gray color, leather interior, and big navigation screen. Basically, a fully loaded car. I think I need to narrow down and write a list of cars I'm interested in and compare the list. However, I don't know what to look for really. Can you please help identify the features that you really liked/unusual ones to look out for? I'm using mdecoder.com . Is there a list of features and what they mean somewhere? I am especially interested in the technology ones as I can't see them in pictures and would like to be able to see how they work on a test drive..

For example:

"S7KZ BMW i interior design Suite" pretty sure this means leather
"S609 Navigation system Professional" this means big navigation screen?
"S544 Cruise control with brake function" not on very many models

Also, CA stickers for HOV lane. Many do not have them but the 2017 should have red ones to allow use up to 2022... is this a big deal or can you just get stickers mailed for free once you buy?

Thanks for reading!

Once you boil it all down and roll the options into packages, these are the available 2017 options as I recall them (pulling from m decoder), as they apply to the US market. Suddenly it's much less intimidating.

Type I3 94 (USA)
(check battery capacity, supposedly some 2017 models had the original 60Ah battery, though I haven't come across one -- would read say "I3 (USA)" without a 60))

Upholstery NATURLED.KO.STELLARICDALBERGIABRAU (NLFT)
(Confirmation of the leather you mentioned, but you also said specifically gray interior; the leather is dark brown