used i3 buying criteria

BMW i3 Forum

Help Support BMW i3 Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zialeaf

I have a friend who is shopping for a used BMW i3. As a 2011 Nissan LEAF owner, I am well acquainted with the downsides to being the early adopter, and I can advise those interested in buying a used LEAF what the early technology problems were, what model years to favor, and how to ascertain the condition of the battery (the most important consideration).

Although I have superficial exposure to it, I have no such knowledge about the i3.

What are the differences for the i3 in model year on the full electric models? What are the buying criteria for the first two or three model years?

Most importantly: How does one verify the battery condition for a used i3?

Thanks in advance...

Steve in New Mexico

zialeaf said:
I have a friend who is shopping for a used BMW i3. As a 2011 Nissan LEAF owner, I am well acquainted with the downsides to being the early adopter, and I can advise those interested in buying a used LEAF what the early technology problems were, what model years to favor, and how to ascertain the condition of the battery (the most important consideration).

Although I have superficial exposure to it, I have no such knowledge about the i3.

What are the differences for the i3 in model year on the full electric models? What are the buying criteria for the first two or three model years?

Thanks in advance...

Steve in New Mexico

Wow, I had a lot of those same questions, you can find good info. here using the search function. The short answer would be to avoid 2014 MY.
60 Ah battery 82 miles of range.
94 Ah battery 114 miles of range. 2017. Note: not all vehicles have the 94Ah because it's an option.
120 Ah battery 153 miles of range. 2019.

Note the range estimates are based on ideal conditions. Level roads, around 70 deg. ambient temperature, conservative driving. So YMMV.