TheMK
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 8:57 pm

Re: Newbie Question - Finding miles used with ReX !

Mon Nov 26, 2018 6:50 pm

They are actually looking at JavaScript variables. From the efficiency page, use the "Developer Tools" feature of your web browser, to inspect the variables.

jadnashuanh
Posts: 4335
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 2:07 pm
Location: Nashua, NH USA

Re: Newbie Question - Finding miles used with ReX !

Mon Nov 26, 2018 7:39 pm

tman66 wrote:What’s the web connected drive URL that you’re using to see these “hidden” stats?

What's available may depend a lot on which country you're in. That information is from the US website www.bmwusa.com , then, you log into your connected drive account (which differs country to country - it's not a BMW worldwide thing). If you don't have your vehicle registered in the US, you'd have to try to see if it's available in yours.

FWIW, I check mine, and it said 17.92 not all that bad after 4.5 years.
Jim DeBruycker
2011 535i x-drive GT, 2014 i3 BEV

Finchie
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 11:17 pm
Location: Hampshire, UK

Re: Newbie Question - Finding miles used with ReX !

Sat Dec 01, 2018 3:16 am

tman66 wrote:What’s the web connected drive URL that you’re using to see these “hidden” stats?


Since I am in the UK.....

https://www.bmw-connecteddrive.co.uk/

You need to have registered with the site.

Cheers, Finchie

tman66
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2018 12:10 pm
Location: Guelph, ON, Canada

Re: Newbie Question - Finding miles used with ReX !

Thu Dec 06, 2018 6:28 am

jadnashuanh wrote:
tman66 wrote:What’s the web connected drive URL that you’re using to see these “hidden” stats?

What's available may depend a lot on which country you're in. That information is from the US website http://www.bmwusa.com , then, you log into your connected drive account (which differs country to country - it's not a BMW worldwide thing). If you don't have your vehicle registered in the US, you'd have to try to see if it's available in yours.

FWIW, I check mine, and it said 17.92 not all that bad after 4.5 years.


Apparently Canadian i3 owners don’t have the same access. I’m working with BMW connected drive support to figure out why I don’t have access to Remote Cockpit via the web portal. At least for me, there’s no efficiency page or similar available. Not sure if it’s due to my 2014 MY i3. It’s taking awhile as they aren’t exactly prompt with their replies via email.
2014 i3 BEV | 2011 328xi Wagon

jadnashuanh
Posts: 4335
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 2:07 pm
Location: Nashua, NH USA

Re: Newbie Question - Finding miles used with ReX !

Thu Dec 06, 2018 5:27 pm

In some markets, you may also need to pay for the remote connectivity. Each market decides on their selling price, 'basic' configuration and option choices, and included maintenance provisions. It seems that Canada chose to not include the TPMS, but rely on logic to detect a low tire pressure by rotation comparisons, for example.
Jim DeBruycker
2011 535i x-drive GT, 2014 i3 BEV

tman66
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2018 12:10 pm
Location: Guelph, ON, Canada

Re: Newbie Question - Finding miles used with ReX !

Fri Dec 07, 2018 11:45 am

I heard back from BMW Canada with the reply "Remote Cockpit will not be available in Canada until next year".
2014 i3 BEV | 2011 328xi Wagon

TheMK
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 8:57 pm

Re: Newbie Question - Finding miles used with ReX ! You can do it with ISTA.

Wed Dec 12, 2018 12:16 pm

MKH wrote:It would need to be in "hours of operation" , not mileage, as the Rex doesn't drive the car's wheels, it powers an electric generator to add charge to the car's battery pack, to extend the car's range.

TheMK wrote:There is an hour meter in the REx*. I'm not sure how to access it- perhaps through ISTA.
*Page 59 of the W20 engine service manual



So my suspicions were confirmed correct, there is indeed an hourmeter (actually it counts seconds but..). It also gives you the number of start-stop cycles, as well as the kilometers driven while it was 'on'.

Image

I have about 1,412 miles on the REx (sounds about right). and an operating period of about 40 hours.

rtanov
Posts: 161
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 10:55 am
Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA

Re: Newbie Question - Finding miles used with ReX !

Thu Dec 13, 2018 10:16 am

This is good information, thanks for posting! Wondering if Bimmercode could read this? I have ISTA but Bimmercode seems easier to work with.
2014 BMW i3 REx
2014 BMW i3 BEV - retired

PBNB
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2018 11:28 am
Location: Vancouver, BC

Re: Newbie Question - Finding miles used with ReX !

Thu Dec 13, 2018 11:34 am

tman66 wrote:I heard back from BMW Canada with the reply "Remote Cockpit will not be available in Canada until next year".


It took me a while and a lot of back and forth with the original dealership from California (my 2015 Rex came from San Raphael BMW) to get mine working with the remote apps. Recently the remote/connected app became available in Canada. I am using it all the time and it works great.

In my case, the sim card built into the car was already registered until Dec 2019 (initial 4 years) so I just had to transfer my info onto the active registration and it works. I also had to provide a US address to make this work. I have a colleague in Washington state that helped me out with address. Once the current subscription runs out, I can go to any dealership and have it reactivated. If your I3 is a Canadian car, you should be able to get the app and start using it.

Recently the Canadian Apple store added the BMW connected app which has the remote and a bunch of other services all in one app. I am not too sure about Android as I have an iphone.
2015 i3 REX

TheMK
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 8:57 pm

Re: Newbie Question - Finding miles used with ReX !

Thu Dec 13, 2018 12:25 pm

rtanov wrote:This is good information, thanks for posting! Wondering if Bimmercode could read this? I have ISTA but Bimmercode seems easier to work with.


Bimmercode certainly has the communication framework to read the data, however I do not believe that the developer(s) have implemented such functionality. You could write to them and see if they would be willing to implement this functionality, but my guess is they'll say it's out of the scope of the program, citing E-SYS vs ISTA.


To those of you that want to read the data in ISTA:
1. Connect the car via ENET or ICOM.
2. Run the basic "vehicle test"
3. In the ECU tree, select the `EDME' ECU.
4. Click on the "Call up ECU Functions" button.
5. Go to diagnosis scan tab, select "Operating Time Range Extender", then click read state.

Return to “News and Main BMW i3 Forum Discussions”