sr3jan
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2018 3:31 pm

Re: Traffic jam assist retro

Fri Mar 30, 2018 7:15 am

RGloverii wrote:That looks right to me. You’ve got the system active from BMW’s point of view.

In order for the steering wheel to appear, the right conditions must be met:
-Driving on a street or freeway with visible lane markers
-A car must be in front of you for your car to follow
-You must be driving no faster than the speed you programmed for TJA. By default, 35MPH or less. I don’t suggest using it any faster than 45.
-The system of course must be turned on.

When all conditions are met, the icon appears, and the system is steering.


You were right! It's works! I just hadn't presented it with the right scenario. Thanks!

RGloverii
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 4:50 pm

Re: Traffic jam assist retro

Fri Mar 30, 2018 7:32 am

Glad I could help. Enjoy TJA! I use mine every day.

sr3jan
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2018 3:31 pm

Re: Traffic jam assist retro

Fri Mar 30, 2018 8:35 am

czarmar wrote:I think you should look at what the max speed is set to - you normally wouldn’t get weird characters for the speed TJA would work to..


That was my next question - how do I figure out what value to enter for say 50 mph?

RGloverii
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 4:50 pm

Re: Traffic jam assist retro

Fri Mar 30, 2018 8:46 am

I don’t suggest going up to 50 MPH. You will experience a LOT of weaving from left to right in the lane. To an outside observer, it will sort of look like a drunk driver.

I don’t think the system is very smooth beyond about 40 MPH.

But to answer your question, you need to convert to HEX. 50 MPH would be 32 in HEX.

pycshen
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 3:52 am

Re: Traffic jam assist retro

Mon Apr 16, 2018 3:57 am

I just installed Quidzel this weekend but regardless on express way or normal road when I try to activate the TJA the following message "Traffic Jam Assist Cannot be activated." Any hint on how to resolve this?

CharonPDX
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2018 8:54 pm

Re: Traffic jam assist retro

Sat Jul 28, 2018 10:28 am

tpaxadpom wrote:Thank you for your reply. We e-mailed the seller and he is shipping a replacement. The module is either not properly programmer or has hw issues. There were several errors including LIN bus related to that and he concluded the module is likely dead.


Well, I got my Quidzel module last week, and tpaxadpom did the coding on it last night. Three hours of troubleshooting, and it looks like another dead module. It says TJA is available, but when I try to activate, it fails, and there are error codes indicating steering wheel wrong version, steering column switch cluster wrong version, and touch detection Missing LIN slave, just as he got when programming the other person's car in March.

Contacting Quidzel now.

Edit: Contacted Quidzel. Advice? "While the car is on, attempt to activate TJA until it throws the error, then while the error is still displayed on screen, unplug the module and plug it back in repeatedly."

I tried this. It did not work. I emailed saying so. He said to keep trying. I ended up having to unplug/replug the module 7 times in rapid succession before it triggered. In the process, the "expressway only disable" and speed limits were both reset to the defaults. (tpaxadpom had disabled "expressway only", and set the speed limits up to 45 MPH. But even with it working, with no 'full car coding' done since, it insisted on expressways, and when I was, it said "only up to 35 MPH".)

Does anyone know where in Bimmercode the ICM/3000/C_STA_Einschraenkung and QCalRel_v_Tacho_aktiv (mph and kmh) settings are? I can't seem to find them - yet others in the thread have said that Bimmercode can do those settings, even though it can't add 5AR to the whole car as needed to activate it in the first place.

czarmar
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 9:56 pm

Re: Traffic jam assist retro

Fri Aug 03, 2018 5:10 pm

FYI - the i3 doesn’t have an ICM. The ICM’s functions are handled by the SAS, for which you have to code with e-sys as Bimmercode can’t do the SAS as far as I know.

So for the i3 to enable all roads and adjust the speed, you’ll need to get e-sys..

sahiljain22
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2018 4:44 pm

Re: Traffic jam assist retro

Tue Aug 07, 2018 4:47 pm

CharonPDX wrote:
tpaxadpom wrote:
Does anyone know where in Bimmercode the ICM/3000/C_STA_Einschraenkung and QCalRel_v_Tacho_aktiv (mph and kmh) settings are? I can't seem to find them - yet others in the thread have said that Bimmercode can do those settings, even though it can't add 5AR to the whole car as needed to activate it in the first place.


Hey, I am having exactly the same issue as yours, trying to figure out how to get TJA working on the F15. In the meanwhile my steering vibration seems to have stopped working also.

Anyways the correct setting I believe is "C_QalcgRel_v_Tacho_aktiv" not "QCalRel_v_Tacho_aktiv".

Return to “Modifications & Accessories”