No brake lights while slowing down under Re-gen

BMW i3 Forum

Help Support BMW i3 Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DeafSoundGuy

Hello all, as an i3 newbie, I don't know if this has come up. I was wondering if there is any sort of brake light that comes on when you're slowing down real fast using the "off the juice pedal" de-acceleration. It was kind of the first thing that came to mind when I bought the car and aggressively slowed down using re-gen. If there's some moron behind me following too close and with my luck, texting too, then how are they going to know that I'm slowing down fast? I seem to rarely touch the brake pedal as probably is the same case with anyone else with these cars. My buddy drove it and he said the same thing in a matter of a few minutes driving and experiencing the re-gen effect. :geek:

If there's not any sort of automatic brake light system for aggressive non- brake slow-downs, wouldn't it make sense to put that into the mix :idea: ? I'm curious if anyone knows anything about that since I cannot drive the car and study the brake lights.

Thanks

There is an accelerometer in the car that measures the rate of deceleration. Slow faster than a set rate and the brake lights come on. They are also connected to a traditional brake light switch for those who use the brake pedal when driving.

WoodlandHills said:
There is an accelerometer in the car that measures the rate of deceleration. Slow faster than a set rate and the brake lights come on. They are also connected to a traditional brake light switch for those who use the brake pedal when driving.

Really? Freakin cool :cool: . I should have known such a cool car would have such tech. I feel a lot better now.

Thanks! :D