i3Houston
Posts: 232
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 2:30 pm

Re: Coding the i3

Sun Dec 16, 2018 7:47 pm

Question - Can BMW identify if the car has been ever been coded?
TM3 Reservation holder/ 2015 i3 Rex

TheMK
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 8:57 pm

Re: Coding the i3

Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:01 pm

i3Houston wrote:Question - Can BMW identify if the car has been ever been coded?
tl;dr yes, read on for why and how it can be avoided...


Certain combinations of coding options will trigger faults that then will show up in ISTA if your dealer runs a scan. Additionally, the dealers themselves have access to ESYS and could code your car or look at what coding changes you have made. If you change the vehicle order (VO code the car), then your new VO will not match the factory VO, which could prompt a suspicion, though I doubt your dealer really truly cares (at least mine doesn't). The point is, "yes" they could possibly tell that you've coded (depending on what you've done, just enabling AM radio for example won't trigger any of the scenarios I listed above), but it's unlikely they'd go looking for it. If you really want to sleep better at night, you can backup your original factory VO/FA to your computer, and then restore it to your car before it goes to the dealer. This will put it back at factory specs (on the coding front). Lastly, make sure that E-SYS doesn't update the VCM after TAL execution. There is an option in E-SYS's settings for that. By doing this, it won't tell the car "Hey we did coding on x date". The silver lining on all of this is that coding may need to be done as part of an 'official' service function (i.e. the software needs to be updated- see the airbag recall), so the memory in the car of a coding event shouldn't necessarily mean a giant red flag for the service advisor.

i3Houston
Posts: 232
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 2:30 pm

Re: Coding the i3

Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:02 am

Now Bimercode does not have an option to rollback tank capacity!!

https://ibb.co/TvxxdWf

How to reset this now?
TM3 Reservation holder/ 2015 i3 Rex

TheMK
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 8:57 pm

Re: Coding the i3

Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:11 am

That's annoying, however you should be able to flip the expert toggle at the top of the screen, and then change
3005->TNK_VOLL_ANZEIGE set to 6_liter (This one is unimportant because all it does is change the display value, doesn't actually do anything with how much fuel is allowed)
3005->TNK_LITER_RECHTS set to mcv_rex_liter_kl_rechts_usa
3005->TNK_OHM_RECHTS set to mcv_rex_ohm_kl_rechts_usa

i3Houston
Posts: 232
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 2:30 pm

Re: Coding the i3

Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:29 am

TheMK wrote:That's annoying, however you should be able to flip the expert toggle at the top of the screen, and then change
3005->TNK_VOLL_ANZEIGE set to 6_liter (This one is unimportant because all it does is change the display value, doesn't actually do anything with how much fuel is allowed)
3005->TNK_LITER_RECHTS set to mcv_rex_liter_kl_rechts_usa
3005->TNK_OHM_RECHTS set to mcv_rex_ohm_kl_rechts_usa
Thank you!!!!!
TM3 Reservation holder/ 2015 i3 Rex

i3Houston
Posts: 232
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 2:30 pm

Re: Coding the i3

Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:54 am

i3Houston wrote:
TheMK wrote:That's annoying, however you should be able to flip the expert toggle at the top of the screen, and then change
3005->TNK_VOLL_ANZEIGE set to 6_liter (This one is unimportant because all it does is change the display value, doesn't actually do anything with how much fuel is allowed)
This one setting is to 7liter and 6 is not listed.

Also found out the restore option, it appears under each Menu item, for example inside Instrument Cluster OR head unit but not on the main/home page. It showed that values will set to factory settings.

I did this and verified the values you provided and they matched except for one above.
TM3 Reservation holder/ 2015 i3 Rex

TheMK
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 8:57 pm

Re: Coding the i3

Mon Dec 17, 2018 11:03 am

Thank you for the correction! I was going off of memory and couldn't recall.

alohart
Posts: 2125
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 7:36 pm
Location: Honolulu, HI

Re: Coding the i3

Sun Jan 20, 2019 12:59 pm

For many months, changing the number of "lane change" turn signal flashes from 3 to 5 via coding hasn't worked for most i3 drivers. A Facebook i3 group member discovered that resetting the driver profiles after changing the coding will change the number of "lane change" turn signal flashes from 3 to 5. I have verified this on our 2014 U.S. i3 with system software version I001-18-11-520 (i.e., the November, 2018, version). However, restoring the driver profiles from a backup will revert the number of "lane change" turn signal flashes back to 3.

The bottom line at this time seems to be that to have 5 "lane change" turn signal flashes, profile restorations cannot be made which eliminates the value of backing up profiles so that they can be restored, if necessary, an unfortunate requirement. So if you want 5 "lane change" turn signal flashes, after resetting your driver profiles, you'd need to laboriously reset the side mirror positions, the pre-sets, Eco Pro settings, and a number of iDrive settings that aren't completely obvious until one notices that something has changed.

One possibility that I didn't check is to uncheck the iDrive setting that enables 3 "lane change" turn signal flashes prior to backing up a driver profile, resetting the profile, restoring it, and then manually checking the iDrive setting that enables 3 "lane change" turn signal flashes. I would check this possibility if it weren't likely that I would have to once again manually set all of my settings that are stored in my driver profile. If you try this, please post your findings.
Aloha,
Art

2014 BMW i3 Arravani Grey, Giga World, Tech + Driving Assist, Parking Assist, DC Fast Charging, JuiceBox EVSE

Wazonga
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2019 12:22 pm

Re: Coding the i3

Tue Jan 29, 2019 12:23 pm

+1!

Can confirm that this works! (the 5 blinks that is; did not try the other bit...)

bwilson4web
Posts: 758
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 11:59 pm
Location: Huntsville, AL

Re: Coding the i3

Sat Feb 02, 2019 7:20 pm

Tonight I got the GPS, set the time, to work:
  1. Set the head unit to allow the option to be set.
  2. Set the body unit to allow the GPS to set the code.
To verify it worked, my BMW clock was about a minute behind my cell phone time. So I enabled the option under the vehicle settings and the BMW i3 'caught up.'

Bob Wilson
20k/27k mi 2014 BMW i3-REx
10k/10k mi 2017 Prius Prime

Return to “Technical BMW i3 Discussions”