help me not buy a dud

BMW i3 Forum

Help Support BMW i3 Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hi all, i recently decided the public transportation in my city sucks more and more every day so I decided to get an electric car. I was intrigued by the bmw i3 especially with the range extender. I came across this listing which has most of my wants aside from the interior color. The main problem is that one of the pictures seems to depict the battery as hold a full charge and reading 70 miles of range. Im pretty new to this so many im wrong. Was hoping someone with a bit more knowledge could chime in. Is the battery dying? Here is the listing.
https://www.cargurus.com/Cars/inventorylisting/viewDetailsFilterViewInventoryListing.action?sourceContext=carGurusHomePageModel&entitySelectingHelper.selectedEntity=d2263&zip=94131#listing=367678425/NONE/DEFAULT

Well lots of factors there... it has quite a lot of miles on it, brand new it was rated for 97 miles on a full charge.

That range number is an estimate by the cars computer based on the recent history of driving style/temp/etc, and in the pics they have the car powered on with the AC going. so that would affect the range number while sitting there. It's also not in the ECO PRO mode, which would bump that range number up.

If the car was heavily used for roadtrips and regularly DC fast charged then that could have taken a toll on the battery too.

If you really wanted to be sure of the batteries health then you could pay the dealer to test it.

I would also add, that if you want an i3 with less chance of being a dud, avoid the range extender... it's just more complex and more maintenance.

What is the ambient temperature where this is located? My 2017 will get maybe 80 miles max when it is 20F outside.