Another i3 Purchase - with Questions!

BMW i3 Forum

Help Support BMW i3 Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mtd240

Background on me: Mechanical engineer, love working on my 2 Volvo 240s. Wife and I live in Brookeville, MD.

The company I work for (engineer) supports DOE's Vehicle Technologies Office, so I have been eyeing EVs for a few years. The deals kept getting better. Did an extended test drive last weekend, and my wife loved the car (artist..). Figured out how to use Owner's Choice Flex, coupled with an already heavily discounted vehicle, to get the monthly payments ~$200. It was an obvious choice :)

Picked up the i3 BEV last night. Laurel Gray ext. color, mega-style interior, upgraded wheels (19", don't need 20s :lol: ).

I have a few questions:
  • 1. My wife's commute is <30 miles round trip, so we plan to stick with L1 charging. No garage, so it will always be charged outside, in a 20A 120V outlet (with a flip cover to keep water out). I plugged it in last night, in the pouring rain, and got a message early in the morning that there was a charge failure. Went outside, unplugged the connector, plugged it back in, and it failed again. Pulled the connector again - this time blew into the J1772 socket to ensure all connections were dry, and plugged it back in. Worked fine for the next hour or so until she left for work. Question: Is the included L1 charging cable weatherproof? From what I read, it is. From what I just experienced, it's iffy.
    2. As stated, we are using an outdoor 20A, 120V socket. I read that the car won't go over 1.4 kWh (nominal) with 120V. Is this true, even if it is on a 20A-fused circuit?