New to me i3

BMW i3 Forum

Help Support BMW i3 Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jscifres02

Hey everyone!

I recently bought my first EV in a 2015 i3 Giga World. I absolutely love the car, as I live in Nashville and have plenty of charging sources around me. I got an incredible deal on the car from Carmax. It does have 45K on it, but its been taken emaculate care of. I'm still learning about the car, but I've began running into "Range Anxiety" which has turned into anxiety about battery degradation. MyBMW app tells me I'm currently at 47% charged with a range roughly of 34 miles. Does that seem good? I scheduled an appointment at BMW to have it checked out while it's still able to returned to Carmax, for any reason. I have anxiety anyway, so maybe I'm just overthinking the whole thing now? I know there's way of checking the battery compacity, but I've also heard it's not very easy to understand or consistent! Let me know what you guys think! I'm super excited to be part of the i3 Team!

Thanks!
Jeffrey

Advertised range of a 2015 i3, Bev, new, was 81 miles. 47% charge (47% of 81) is 38 miles. So showing a range of 34 miles now is not bad at all. And your range will vary depending on how you drive, where you drive (city, highway, hilly roads) how hot or cold the weather is (AC and Heater use), etc.

If you still have the option (and the funds) the Carmax extended warranty is one of the best in the business. Covers most everything without question, and all work done at a BMW dealership.

I agree that based on that one data point, your current car is in pretty good battery shape. But there are quite a few ways to measure capacity and they can all vary from day to day for some logical reasons (weather) and sometimes for seemingly no reason at all.